Brentwood HC 45 - 39 Peterborough HC

On Saturday 12th April, BHC hosted Peterborough for what was to become an exciting and fast-paced match with plenty of goals. The last time the two teams met in December the match ended with a draw but this time BHC was victorious.

Peterborough opened the score and soon after Philippe equalised. The first ten minutes were very even, thanks mainly to Peterborough's number 99, but Khalid broke the tie situation by converting his first penalty of the match and putting the score at 6-5. From then on, Brentwood never lost the lead of the match despite playing with a reduced squad yet again. Faced with only one substitute, coach Hans-Jörg joined his players on court for some periods of time and even scored one goal, adding to the goals by Branislav, Philippe, Khalid, Ian and Rob G.. The half-time score was 21-19.

Khalid scored the first goal of the second half, a half that saw plenty of goals for both teams. The opponents closed the gap to just two on several occasions, but Brentwood didn't allow Peterborough to come back at any stage; BHC were determined to get a convincing victory in their last fixture of the season and Etienne also added his name to the score sheet with a nice goal. The final score was 45-39.

Both teams enjoyed themselves and all BHC players who played on the day gave their best to finish their regular fixtures as they started: with a win.

In total, Brentwood had 5 wins, 2 draws and 3 defeats, finishing the season with 22 points and a goal difference of +75 goals.

BHC have now to wait and see if they will play in the play-offs which will take place in May.

After the match coach Hans-Jörg said: "I'm very happy with all the players who played today. They put in a great effort and were fully determined to win this important match. Although we didn't always play as I would have liked to, I am really happy because we achieved our objective for today which was to win this match."

The team on the day was:
Connor Bennett in goal, Branislav Slivka (13), Etienne Szomonyak (1), Hans-Jörg Küller Rabaça (1), Ian Weir (7), Khalid Amrane (15), Philippe Kouessan-Ettori (6), Rob Broad and Rob Grant (2).